top of page

Board Meeting Information

As of October 25, 2022, the board will meet on the last Tuesday of each month at 4:30 pm except when Updates are noted below.



In-person: Mon County Center, WVU Extension Service Conference Room, 270 Mylan Park Lane, Suite 250, in Mylan Park.

Online: To attend via Zoom, please register any time and the Zoom link will be emailed to you shortly after registering. Simply click the Register button, complete the form and submit. 


Updates will be posted below.  To print a copy of the schedule click the schedule image below.


The June 25, 2024 Board meeting has been rescheduled to Thursday, June 27, 2024 due to not having a quorum. 


The FY2025 Board meeting dates will be posted after the June 27, 2024 Board meeting upon Board approval. 

2024FY Board Meeting Dates Update 06-17-24.png

About the Monongalia County Solid Waste Authority

The Monongalia County Solid Waste Authority (MCSWA) was created by the West Virginia Legislature on January 1, 1989, as a public agency in accordance with WV Code §22C-4-3. The Legislative intent was to protect the public health and welfare with a comprehensive program of solid waste collection, processing, recycling, and disposal, managed for the most part, on the local level. Responsibilities of the authorities include but are not limited to acquisition, construction of and/or operation of solid waste facilities; local and/or regional solid waste planning; siting approval of commercial solid waste facilities; coordinating public education and awareness; solid waste and litter control project coordination/ management and many other things consistent with WV Code §22C-4.


The purpose of the MCSWA is to protect the public health and welfare by providing for a comprehensive program of solid waste collection, processing, recycling, and disposal. Further, the MCSWA exists to establish programs based on source reduction, recycling, reuse, material recovery and lastly, landfilling.


The MCSWA has a five-member board of directors who are in charge of managing the powers and duties of the MCSWA. These board members are appointed by different agencies which include: the Secretary of the WV Department of Environmental Protection, the Monongalia County Commission, the board of supervisors for the Monongahela Conservation District, and the chairman of the Public Service Commission.

The current Board of Directors are

H. R. Scott, Chairman, Term Ends June 30, 2027, Public Service Commission Appointee

David Custer, Co-chairman, Term Ends June 30, 2026, Monongalia County Commission Appointee

Eldon A. Callen, Board member, Term Ends June 30, 2025, WV Department of Environmental Protection Appointee

Hayward Helmick, Board member, Term Ends June 30, 2024, Conservation District Appointee

Mike McCawley, Board member, Term Ends June 30, 2024, Monongalia County Commission Appointee

The MCSWA Administrator is Lynn Castro.

2021 Comprehensive Litter and Solid Waste Control Plan

2023 Monongalia County Commercial Solid Waste Facility Siting Plan

bottom of page